Scrawls from a buried notebook..

I was looking through some of my old notebooks and found some interesting scrawls I had made..Here they are…I call them “Poems”.. ๐Ÿ™‚

Inspiration’s Den is Sorrow

Maybe the deepest crevices
Of my unexplored mind
Open up for perusal
When I am sad
Maybe thoughts that were dormant
Come forth like wraiths
Jostling for attention
When I am sad
Maybe the gross and the subtle
Stand in their naked selves
Revealing Truth
When I am sad
Maybe reality gets hazy
The past sweeps me away
With me tut-tutting myself
When I am sad
Maybe which is why
Some never known expressions
Arrange themselves
Into poems..When I am sad..
___________________________________________________________
The Superior Ones

No, they did not brandish
Swords at me
They did not put a gun
To my temple
Never Never!
They did not
Crush me with Chauvinism
There was no threat to my ego
Nobody pushed me down
And climbed a ladder meant for me
All they did was
Call me “woman”
And walk away
With not so much
As a backward glance..
___________________________________________________________

The Nameless One

In a world of strangers
I move like a mistake
People hoard love
Like treasures guarded by dragons of yore
My mind is like a whirlwind
I cannot talk
Reality does not work like wishes
It warps itself into concrete disillusionments
Who knows what love is
Try making the bits and pieces
Into a sensible collage
The world invariably
Rearranges itself into chaos
Either love is unknown or is elsewhere
Praying for numbness
I drag down all the shutters
Wishes Wishes Wishes
Give me love
I ll give you eternity..
In my consciousness
“Shop closed and sealed.”

Well..some people who read my posts imagine I am depressed in life…Thanks for your interpretation but it is not true..I dislike it when people categorize me and sympathize with me..After all, the persona or the “I” in my poems do not necessrily represent me at all times..Poems have a component called “Imagination”..This is the debate we had during our lectures on Kamala Das..whether she was a confessional poet sans doubt..the argument continues..

technorati tags: , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Scrawls from a buried notebook..

  1. I loved your scrawls – particularly “the superior ones”. wish your poems would spring forth not only when you are sad but also out of joy.
    Will come back for more.

  2. Hey there,

    I am not such a good master with words like you are but then again you hold such a blessing- the talent of writing poems. Keep it running ๐Ÿ˜€
    Take care

  3. “After all, the persona or the “I” in my poems do not necessrily represent me at all times..Poems have a component called “Imagination””

    I think the same.

    now I’m checking on google something about Kamala Das…

    I like people who write pomes

  4. Chauvinism and Superiority of one’s opponents and one’s own Sorrow the chief themes of your poems here. I have to say that they are more imaginative skirmishes rather than derivatives from your own tank of melancholy…the fingerprinting of these emotions and ideas with one’s own life and events is a very real possibility though. Perhaps we obtain inspiration to write these from our lives, so we can address our increments and decrements through fatalisms, information we deem truths and trusims we see in patterns in our lives. Oddly it is just such that also bring clarity, and as you have said in your first poem,

    “Maybe the gross and the subtle
    Stand in their naked selves
    Revealing Truth
    When I am sad”

    All said and done, the last line may well be absent despite our tendencies to retain it. Some good free verse. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. “Well..some people who read my posts imagine I am depressed in lifeโ€ฆThanks for your interpretation but it is not trueโ€

    My very caring friends and family occasionally engage in that as well.

    I think due to the intimacy of the medium people forget that poetry is still a medium for storytelling, and subject to same allowances we give for prose.
    While the feelings are ideally drawn from a true source, the intent is often to explore a mood, idea, or persona that is quite apart from the writer.

  6. True…people tend to get too involved in the writing and immediately afterwards their attention is directed to the writer. This happens to me as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

