Age cannot wither her..

Once I used to be the most-wanted person among my friends. I was very social and talkative. I was also pretty I think. Now I have none of these things left with me.

Yet I know what I have been through and what I have survived in my life. I am beautiful in my own special way. This is a beauty that traverses physical appearance. I may not look very attractive yet I know what I can offer to my loved ones. I have warmth and goodwill which many people with physical beauty may not possess. I am a victim of my physical ailments and I have lost my charm of youth.

Yet I am guided by the wisdom of experience and such experience that:

“Age cannot wither her, nor custom stale
Her infinite variety: other women cloy
The appetites they feed, but she makes hungry
Where most she satisfies.”

Wherefore I am as beautiful as the dry flower or the broken pieces of earthenware, that once held beauty but now hold a lesson.

10 thoughts on “Age cannot wither her..

  1. I dont know if this is a story or a rant, but if it is a rant, I should want to say that I find your imaginings to be among the most creative I have witnessed. Besides, what comfort is there in being a most-wanted when most people are bound to leave you anyway? Follow your heart and see where it leads. I identify with the conclusions you derive, but I think you should not be pained by age… anyone who is pained by age cannot live.

  2. It is not a rant nor am I pained. I think the very immaturity that leads people to believe I am pained by the lack of physical beauty is what leads people to appreciate physical beauty over inner beauty.

  3. Wherefore I am as beautiful as the dry flower or the broken pieces of earthenware, that once held beauty but now hold a lesson.

    That was the line I really liked..sorry abt the previous comment..:-P

  4. I cannot agree more. To transcend physical beauty (first impression) and look at the inner beauty (not readily visible) is very tough but very rewarding.
    I love your writing.

  5. nor ure money,wealth or beauty would ever exist except ure foot prints, ure success in life, so ure way is very encouraging and really appreciateable, well i am also undergoing somehting like urs but this is the time we summon up our own creativity of life coz we get a loads of time to be with our own selves…

Leave a Reply

