Remembering Hiroshima…

Hiroshima survivor with rice ball

War has almost become a way of life.. who remembers the number of people who die everyday.. who remembers these animals that are shred to death everyday.. we are all carnivores.

A very symbolic image of protest against nuclear tests, conducted by various countries, is the Hiroshima Peace Watch The Peace Watch counts the number of days between one nuclear test and another… it is reset to zero after every nuclear test. Well, not that anybody cares! After all if they do not care for torn bodies, bleeding limbs, homeless children and broken hearts, they would certainly not care for a dumb Watch Tower that stands in some town that rose from a history of wreckage and trauma.


Hiroshima Peace Watch

” Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum reset its Peace Watch, a clock tower that indicates the number of days since the last nuclear test, Tuesday morning for 11th time since the clock began operating on Aug. 6, 2001.

Koichiro Maeda, the museum director, reset the clock to one, indicating that a day had passed since North Korea is believed to have conducted an underground nuclear test, for the first time since Aug. 31 when the United States conducted a subcritical nuclear test.”

This image here describes the trauma of a father who cremated his child. I don’t want to reproduce the translation here because I don’t want to sensationalize his suffering.

All the children at an Elementary School died as they stood in line for the morning assembly. I remember how we reacted to the death of school children at a fire accident in Kumbakonam. Would we react only when it happens to us?

I remembered a poem by Vikram Seth called “A Doctor’s Journal Entry for August 6, 1945”

“I saw the shadowy forms of people, some
Were ghosts, some scarecrows, all were wordless, dumb–
Arms stretched straight out, shoulder to dangling hand;
It took some time for me to understand
The friction on their burns caused so much pain
They feared to chafe flesh against flesh again.”

He talks about the humiliation and the bare nakedness caused by the bombing itself and the shock that paralysed them and rendered them incapable of reacting to their own nakedness or the nakedness of others. The poem talks of a return to a primordial state of shamlessness. Almost an echo to the primitive savagery of the bombers.

Reminds me of another quotation by Einstein

“I don’t know what kind of weapons will be used in the third world war, assuming there will be a third world war. But I can tell you what the fourth world war will be fought with — stone clubs.”

I can leave you only with one thought. Yes, we all speak of violence as wrong. We all speak of the importance of peace. We all want freedom to do the things we want to do. We all want to live in happiness. Yet, the violence in a war is not alien to our own selves. This violence is in each one of us. When we look at our neighbour differently, when we accuse a friend of betrayal, when we wish someone would die, when we resent someone’s behaviour, when we are selfish, when we hate people from a particular religion or caste, when we hate a person because he is rich or poor, then we are also propagating the same kind of violence.

If there was a land without maps or boundaries, that is where I want to be. I don’t believe in drawing lines on land and killing each other for it. I don’t want to create my identity out of these lines. I don’t want to fight for such an identity.

Remember Chernobyl
Remember Hiroshima
Remember your own hatred and violence..
Say no to the absurdity of violence..

You can begin by Saying No to Nuclear Power..

8 thoughts on “Remembering Hiroshima…

  1. “.. I don’t believe in drawing lines on land and killing each other for it.I don’t want to create my identity out of these lines. I don’t want to fight for such an identity…”

    You are oversimplifying it. Humans have evolved in a way that they look different, speak different, think different and belive in different things, and these things become our “identity”.
    Also, humans have evolved to protect and fight for our identity and this human nature is overdominant in 5000 years of civilization and even before that.

    Respect the soilders who are fighting for our identity, for our lines which define us, while you and me are blogging.

    If they do not fight, you surely would get that land without boundries and map as our country would be taken over by our neighbors!

    I do say NO to violence.., like you mentioned for events like Hiroshima.
    Which was not about lines, not about identity, only about POWER.

    This fight for identity, will not just go away..it will stay as long as humans exist..and to some extent..it SHOULD. Only question is what identity we should fight for and for what we should not.

  2. I don’t respect soldiers. I think they are idiots.

    Well.. I don’t expect to be understood either but I’d rather seem like a traitor than be a killer..

    “If they do not fight, you surely would get that land without boundries and map as our country would be taken over by our neighbors!”

    When does this become a problem? You tell me..

    The need for power comes from a need to establish your identity as superior to someone else’s..

    What you say is realistic.. I did not write this post without thinking of the points you said.. what I am talking of is idealistic… the next 5000 years can start from today.

  3. “..I don’t respect soldiers. I think they are idiots.
    Well.. I don’t expect to be understood..”

    U r right. U r certainly not well understood when u say things like that.

    Although, I will skip the ‘traitor/killer’ part,
    look at urself, how quickly u generalize and label someone as ‘idiot’. U might say its long way from killing someone. I will say u r certainly going in the right direction…, someone called someone ‘idiot’, before every war!

    Hatred, even towards your ‘enemy’, which ironically enough happen to be soilders of your country, will never beget peace.

    “..When does this become a problem? You tell me..”

    It does not, until just one person has some other plans and thinks …”Let us kill them because they do not look like me…”

  4. Way to go, girl!!! U rock.

    Yes, I consider soldiers as idiots too. They are idiots because they listen to somebody who dont know and kill somebody whom they dont know and for a reason that they dont know.

    No borders. No wars. All countries should decide a day and liquify all their weapons and armies in exact synchronization. Idealistic, yes!! impossible, no!!!

    one world government, one identity and one goal of life : happiness.

  5. @ Tismar

    “look at urself, how quickly u generalize and label someone as ‘idiot’.”

    Just because you read it quickly, it does not mean I said that quickly. I can generalize all soldiers as idiots because you gave me a generalization to “respect soldiers” in general!

    Idiocy and absurdity are easy things to recognize, in fact the easiest.

    When I call them idiots they don’t become my enemies nor do I wish to eliminate them. I only wish they would be aware of their own idiocy. If all soldiers quit their jobs then there would be no war.

    “It does not, until just one person has some other plans and thinks …”Let us kill them because they do not look like me…””

    Quoting you for an answer, “If they do not fight, you surely would get that land without boundries and map as our country would be taken over by our neighbors!”

    So is the difference within you or me?

    @ Venkat

    Yay!

  6. “..I only wish they would be aware of their own idiocy…”

    I wish the same for u.

    p.s: No offense intended.
    your viewpoint is far beyond discussion over blog comments.

  7. Haha.. Your kind of reaction is not new to me.. people who know me really well will understand my way of thinking..

    Others will underestimate me bigtime.. not that I care!

Leave a Reply

