Irises

Since noon
The same resonances
That were once captured
By the heel
Running berserk
On a magnet layer
Quiver in my ears
Again and again

They speak to me
Like your eyes

I thirsted for silences
Not the ones in the silent woods
With the frogs asleep
Not the ones you find in libraries
In dust, chewed books and obedience.
Muffled whispers
Scraping feet and ducks walking the stairs.

The silences that are rarities
In loud voice markets
The silence that accompanies
Short intakes of breath
While words spill endlessly
In conversation
When someone draws a puff of smoke
And when everyone at the table
Waits for someone else to speak

In those silences
I drunk your eyes
In noise your eyes quivered
Like psychedelic title layouts
In a movie of the eighties.

In silences your eyes searched
Forthright and unabashed
Robbing me of the little light
That helped in deciphering time

I was in penance
Worse than the mushroom
That slept in a spore
Waiting for monsoon
Worse even than the moment now
When I am trying to piece together
Fragments of abstract impressions
I was in penance
For those irises
To bloom like geometrical circles
Out of my dancing compass
One blue moon.

6 thoughts on “Irises

  1. “I was in penance
    For those irises
    To bloom like geometrical circles
    Out of my dancing compass
    One blue moon.”

    Lovely! Loved reading this poem… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

